It is becoming increasly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is widely argued by some that, taking a gap year in order to work or travel before beginning one’s tertiary education is beneficial. Although this has some advantages, it also has some disadvantages. There are three main benefits to students travelling or working before their university education. Firstly, through travelling, they will broaden their horizons. In addition, students who go overseas will be exposed to different cultures and customs. As a result, they will gain a deeper understanding of the world. Secondly, students who work will learn to appreciate value for money. Morever, they will realise the hardwork involved in earning money and they will think more before purchasing anything they desire. Finally, it is possible to take advantage of their experience and age. For example, there are many gap year educational programs in which experience could be a huge asset. However, there are a number of downsides as well. Firstly, travelling might cause people to feel homesick. Many students have not been apart from their family and friends before so when they travel, they may miss the people. What is more, in extreme circumstances, students may even become depressed. Secondly, student who work may not want to return to thier studies. Moreover, they may enjoy earning money and becoming financially independent. They might be negatively affected by this as nowadays it is very important to graduate with a degree in order to compete on the job market. Lastly, the gap year might cause some students to fall behind in their studies. For instance, many students ' close friends will already be adapted to university life by the time they arrive. In conclusion, students who take a gap year can gain invaluable experience and learn more independence in their financial life. However, they may also become homesick and end up returning to their studies.