Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Taking care of elderly people is not easy and needs patience and is time-consuming. Due to the busy and stressed lifestyle of the modern man, more and more senior citizens are admitted to elder homes. This trend has both pros and cons. Firstly, after industrialization, many live in a nuclear family, which has led to loneliness among the elders. Also living alone can affect both the mental and physical well-being of senior citizens. Therefore, some of them can actually enjoy communicating with others in the centre and feel better. Secondly, their physical disabilities and sicknesses will be treated and they can live a healthy life without being a burden to their family. For instance, a person with a stroke who is bed bound for the rest of his life can be well taken care of in a nursing centre. But, sometimes, it is not possible for his family to carry this burden, with the busy schedule of their life. On the other hand, the majority of the elders feel abandoned and neglected, when they are placed in nursing stations. It has a significant psychological impact and they feel lonely. Even though they have all the facilities in the foster homes, they never really feel the love and tenderness of their family. Moreover, As men and women tend to live longer with the development of health facilities, the percentage of older communities is on the rise. Hence, the number of centres needed to tend to them is on the rise and it places a huge burden on the national budget. Also, another major disadvantage of this trend is, the children will miss a lot of fun and guidance when the grandparents are separated. For example, grant parents can help tend kids, telling them stories, playing games, taking them to school and dressing them etc. Thus, kids might feel lonely growing up. In conclusion, though admittance of the elderly population to foster houses has certain benefits, in my opinion, mostly it has a negative impact on both the older and younger generation.