Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Individuals are split when it comes to smoking. Some individuals are of believe that the most effective way of quitting smoking is to make that against the law especially in public places. Others, on the contrary, assert that there should be more effort rather than making it illegal to be enough and effective. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss and conclude by clearly stating my viewpoint. On the one hand, proponents of making smoking illegal in public places claim that because of long hours of time spent in these places could be helpful in discouraging people. Primarily, more forbidden zone in cities like restaurants, parks as well as streets for smokers can seduce them to smoke less than before to avoid committing crimes. More importantly, there should be more force for supporting the law against illegal smoking for instance control cameras or police officers. From another angle, opponents, conversely, responded that there might be other actions to reduce the number of smokers. Initially, it is important to put expensive taxes on smokers or maybe some encouraging policies for non- smokers. Moreover, the other controlling option can be fine tickets for smokers who are invading the rights of other non-smoker citizens. In conclusion, I tend to agree with the advocates of other measures rather than banning smoking in common places, since they have the more robust arguments for example tax and fines. It should not be forgotten that smoking in public places is usually the case, provided that people are committing a crime while they are smoking there, so they have to be more cautious about that.