Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Processed food and beverages containing an excessive amount of sugar are the causes of many detrimental health problems for people. This is the reason why many contend it is necessary to raise the price of sugary products to protect people ’s well-being. Though such an intervention in the cost of those products may bring immediate wanted results, I argue that it is by no means the most intelligent choice. First of all, making manufactured food and drink expensive is a viable solution to protect society's health. If sugary products become luxury commodities, it will discourage people from buying in excess of such items. This will be likely to drastically decrease the amount of sugar that people take in and, thus, negatively affect the revenue of the companies operating in related industries. When producing sweet food and drink is no longer lucrative, many companies will either be out of business or switch to other sectors. Such a result will, in turn, affect the availability of sugary products for customers. However, such a way might not be the best approach to protect people from diet-related diseases. Nobody can know for sure how meaningful sugary products are to people ’s lives. For some, they are irreplaceable, so these people may be willing to pay a higher price for those products or resort to buying cheaper ones that are probably made of low-quality ingredients to satisfy their needs. Needless to say, abrupt and forceful intervention of the government in the commodity markets might result in disagreements among the citizens and negative consequences for the country’s economy. In addition, there is a multitude of other more serious causes of the current worrying public health such as smoking, pollution, and a sedentary lifestyle. In conclusion, it is true that digesting products with a high level of sugar will negatively affect people ’s health, and encouraging a diet with reduced sugar by increasing those commodities’ prices is a considerable option. It is, nevertheless, not the most effective measure, so those in power should consider other possible methods.