Some people think the best way to redude crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, there are better, alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that giving longer sentences is a favourable way to reduce the number of crimes while others feel that there are more effective approaches to prevent them. Which is better in the long run? Although giving a lifetime sentence discourages people to commit a crime, alternative ways such as installing a CCTV camera, work better to stop it. Some people argue that a lifetime sentence stops people from committing a crime because no one wants to waste such a long time in prison. By way of an example, the government of Japan has established stricter sentences including longer sentences, which aims to reduce criminal cases. As a consequence, the number of criminals has been decreasing gradually. However, this change only works for serious crimes such as cybercrimes and murder, and the amount of relatively casual one does not decrease effectively. As a result, it does not have a huge impact on reducing crimes. On the other hand, monitoring people by introducing CCTV cameras in city districts has a positive effect on reducing crimes because people feel that if they commit a crime, the police will arrest them quickly. A good example of this is London where the number of crimes decreased after installing the cameras in the CBD. According to an article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper published last month, eight out of ten adults who had criminal records answered that CCTV might be one of the best methods to stop crimes. Therefore, the Ministry of Justice in Japan is now considering introducing more monitoring cameras in metropolitan areas such as Tokyo. In conclusion, although there are benefits to making longer sentences, it is clearly better to install CCTV cameras to prevent people from committing a crime. Governments must take responsibility for handling criminal issues in this effective way.