In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

In some nations students have the possibility, when they finish high school and before starting university studies, to have a gap year. In this year they can work or travel in order to make a more informed choice for their own future life. In favour of this opportunity there is the possibility to start working and understanding how the world of work works with its rules and with the necessity to create relationships with colleagues. Furthermore, working is important to understand the importance of taking responsibility and the difficulty of managing the money earned. Starting work early can help you understand what your inclinations are and help you make a more informed choice of the type of study to undertake, so that they are closer to their own desires and life experiences. In fact, this choice, probably, will occupe them for their entire life. Working will give them the opportunity to know new people who, surely, will enrich them with new experiences e knowledge. Also travelling could be most useful to know new cultures and ways of life and can help to reduce the stress of daily life. At the same time could be useful to learn how to manage better money and time. Against this possibility, however, we can say that this gap year could be very unproductive and unuseful because it could be very expensive because of travels and, furthermore, could do losing one year to study. In conclusion, this opportunity could bring the advantage to understand the importance of money and their managing and the difficulties of the world of work but it could have also some disadvantages.