Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A lot of people believe that advertising has good effects on the economy whereas there is a different set of people thinking it has adverse social impacts. In the current essay, I will discuss both views and share my opinion. In the modern days of society, an enormous number of brands are present in the market selling the same category of product. It has become necessary to advertise the product in order to not only make the consumer aware of its benefits but additionally, to share the discounts they are offering to promote sales. Many ads depict different types of benefits to their buyers and some of the products completely transform them from what they are. Furthermore, with higher purchasing power, consumers are prone to spend on shopping which is however contributes to cash flow in the economy. Hence, the GDP (Gross Domestic Product) of the country increases in proportion to the money spent on purchases after seeing any advertisement which results in impulse buying. On the other hand, most of the promotions promise to change the appearance of the user which develops complexities to accept the original version of ourselves and always creates requirements to improve our looks. Moreover, viewers start to feel under pressure in their current body and situation leading to becoming something that they are not. In this way, society is full of more fake folks in place of genuine people. For instance, a television commercial for 'Fair & Lovely' face cream has led to raising a point on every wheatish or dark-complexioned girl about their skin tone. These TVCs show no success can be achieved without fair skin. As a result, every household wanted their daughter to apply this creme. In conclusion, advertising boosts the nation's growth, therefore, if we promote health instead of beauty material we can not only contribute to the economy but also inspire the community to improve their health instead of, questioning their physique.