Today people live longer after retiring from work. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done to deal with them?

Nowadays, the life span of retired people increased compared to the old times. We will discuss the most serious problems arising because of this, and also two ways in which the situation can be improved. Arguably the gravest problem is an upward trend in mental health problems among the elderly due to excessive amounts of free time after they quit working. During retirement time, they become lonely and unable to fill their spare time. According to a study, for instance, the majority of people who are over 65 years old are suffering from anxiety and other mental crisis. A further serious impact is that healthcare expenses inevitably rise because of the old population. If the average age of society increased, chronic diseases and the possibility of urgent surgery would grow, causing a necessity for a huge budget for the treatment of these cases. To counteract these dangers, perhaps the most effective and the most immediate solution would be special centers built by authorities which for only the old folk. By doing this, a social environment will be offered to prevent people from coping with mental issues. Another remedy would be to force governments to make policies about protecting the health of the elderly community. For example, in some European countries, there are state-of-the-art sports centres for retired people to keep them in shape, and prevent potential heart disease caused by obesity. Such initiatives give opportunities to the old crowd for staying healthy and keep away from hospitals except for routine controls, clearly makes a decline in money spent on healthcare by both individuals and authorities. In conclusion, the fundamental problems seem to be psychological concerns and economic issues. The key solution would be to open social places for the elderly and promote preventive measures against possible illnesses.