In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

It has been a disturbing condition to the general public that there are more crimes recently than in the past. I identify a number of factors which contribute to this phenomenon, and we can propose several ways to improve the safety condition of the society. As the technology develops, criminals have turned to more high-tech crimes rather than the ‘old-fashioned’ burglaries and robberies, which could be more easily solved by the police. As a result, the law enforcements impose less deterring effects on people from committing crimes. For example, there are reported cases of hackers using computers and internet to break into the bank security system, and stole a large amount of money without even presenting themselves at the bank. Another factor adds to more people breaking the law is that the income gap between the rich and the poor has widened. Little care is provided to the poor, and they feel being overlooked and discarded by the society. Furthermore, the economy is deteriorating in many countries where the unemployment rate spikes and people find it difficult to make a living through work and have to turn to criminals. Luckily, it is never too late for us to make amendments. The government needs to invest more in building firewalls for vital electronic systems and training the police with updated technologies. New generations of equipment should also be deployed to deter people from breaking the law, such as surveillance cameras and finger prints locks. The public should also focus more on the well-being of the poor by providing helps including voluntary cares, donations and free shelters. For nations that are under financial distress, skill trainings should be provided for the unemployed to help them find new jobs, and unemployment insurance is always helpful in reducing one’s financial pressure of being laid off. In conclusion, despite there are certain adverse factors, we can still make various efforts to develop a safer society for everyone.