Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important enviromental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Certain citizens believe that endangered species are a pressing issue nowadays, while others would argue that there are more critical environmental matters to address. In my opinion, although maintaining the balance of the biosphere is crucial, reducing waste should be the first urgent priority to work on. There are two main reasons to support those who are concerned about protecting plants and animals as a principal problem on our planet. Firstly, some hunters kill wildlife for entertainment, leading to the extinction of certain creatures. The Formosan rock monkey is a salient example, having been hunted too often a decade ago. Secondly, in order to meet overpopulation needs, construction industries have built plenty of villas through deforestation, leading to the destruction of natural habitats, especially for giant trees. Therefore, it is important to help these species. On the other hand, I think the foremost environmental obstacle that should be addressed is the overproduction of litter. To begin with, more and more products are not made to last. For instance, many goods end up in landfill sites after being thrown away because consumers are not interested in them. In addition, many packaging materials are non-biodegradable, which damages our earth since they cannot be broken down. Hence, if the government put legal limits on the packaging, or people recycle and reuse useful materials, or even go to collection banks for paper, plastic bottles, and glass, we can tackle this problem. In conclusion, while we acknowledge the importance of preserving almost extinct breeds today, it is crucial to focus on recycling.