Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

With the advancements in the technology, many people have changed their methods of interacting with other individuals. This essay is to discuss how technology has affected on people's relationships and its negative impacts. Innovations and improvements in the technology affected people's relationships in both positive and negative ways, especially in terms of communication. As a negative impact, many individuals do not meet others in person nowadays, because of the availability of different tools and applications. For an instance, people meet via social media applications. On the other hand, these applications positively support to communicate with people who are in longer distances. For example, it is much easier and faster to communicate with a person from anywhere in the world. However, many negative results have developed because of the improvements in technology. One of those negative impact is, scams and threats in the internet. In other words, there are many folks who build relationships with others in order to scam or threat them. For example, recently FBI did a research about scammers and found out that the number of crimes related to scamming increased in the last decade due to social media. Some of those incidents had resulted serious damages to several people. Also, another negative development is that privacy and trust issues. In the past, people used to talk to each other in person which build their trust and privacy. But nowadays, many folks especially adolescents tend to build relationships with people that they have never seen. As a result, they get cheated and abandoned causing various problems. For example, a teenage girl in India suicided after finding out that her boyfriend was cheating on her with a fake profile. To conclude, technology has negatively impact on people's relationships nowadays significantly and it is a controversial topic to discuss.