Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about building designs. Some argue that the building’s design should be left up to those who fund it, whereas others contend that governments should be aware of the architecture of freshly built structures. Personally, I am in favour of the latter view. To start with, it is generally true that those who finance the construction of a building have the right to modify the design and its development. Since the project owners have an essential knowledge about the architecture, such as how it is going to be built and what are the main features of the project. Because they possess this kind of cognition, they know the most about the construction’s visual appeal and therefore the financiers are able to make changes to the design in order to satisfy the customer needs, current architecture trend and so on. However, when it comes to certain areas where there is a high risk of natural disasters, government regulation helps to ensure and control the safety of a city. For instance, in places where earthquakes occur, buildings’ foundation is done strictly under control, and it should be firm and robust to diminish the risks of accidents. Additionally, the government regulation can ensure that the design of new buildings fits in with the character of the neighbourhood, so that the city’s environment and overall design are balanced and enhanced. To sum up, although it is inhuman to limit designers’ creativity, I would argue that it is crucial for the government to regulate certain aspects of building design when it comes to the environment and safety of mankind.