In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

It is undeniable that the tendency of pupils who pretend to go to school yet are actually absent from school is a stressful issue for parents and teachers in many countries. This essay will explain thoroughly the reason behind the trend and mention some drawbacks that can affect children and the community. To start with, the reason for the truancy trend emerges is that some pupils feel a lack of entertainment in their homes. As a result, some students will decide to pretend present in school but in fact, some the students go somewhere such as a play stations centre to entertain themself. One of my friends is a teacher in a certain high school in Jakarta, she told me the result of her interview section with some of her students who truanting regularly, it is true that they just need some time to relax because they have a limited time to do some leisure activities or entertaining themself with their hobbies after school. Turning to possible effects, the consequence of absence in school will make some pupils miss a lot of tasks and lessons which can cause the possibility to fail their grade level. Continuing the testimony from my friend in the previous paragraph, she mentioned that almost 20% of children who leave school regularly underperformed academically. Moreover, poor academic results will also cause weak career growth for children in the future; it is unarguable that behaviour records and educational results will be assets that can bring someone easier getting hired or unlock promotions. On contrary, if pupils have bad performance and behaviour notes from their academic histories it can make society such as working space to see people's worth. As result, it can deliberately increase the number of people who are unemployed in society. In conclusion, it is unavoidable that the restriction of doing entertaining activities is one of the reasons why pupils decide to be truant students. That trend inevitably can bring detrimental effects on children which can be a barrier to their career progression which unconsciously can be possibly a source of jobless in society.