Some think that people should not change their jobs while others think they should because it brings advantages for themselves, company and society. Discuss and give opinion.

There is a view that staying at one job can bring many significant long-term benefits for self, organizations and society, however, some counter recommendations have been made too. I would support the latter view, but this essay will discuss both views in detail. On one hand, being a part of one company for a long time may help a person understand the culture of the organization more accurately, which makes him more productive within a defined work setting. Moreover, a company can also put trust in someone who stays longer in it, thus, investing more in his training and career development. Furthermore, at the time of retirement, a more senior employee will get higher benefits. For example, a senior employee gets more long-term benefits in many multi-national organizations, such as PNG group, where higher designations are filled with senior employees internally, and, on their retirement, they get benefits based on their designations and a number of working years with the company. On other hand, switching companies may give an employee more exposure to new areas and, thus, better learning and salary. When human resources learn fast, they become the more skilled workforce in society, hence, organizations within those societies may grow faster, and expand their workforce by getting the maximum benefits from skilled labours. For instance, according to a research work, published by a professional at an American university, an employee who switches more, develops more skills and receives higher pay. To conclude, there are some pros and cons of switching employers throughout a career. It is good for new skills and career development, but slows down the process of recognition, and decreases after-employment rewards.