Some say that university students should pay the full cost of their studies because higher education only benefits the students and not the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A recent debate in society is regarding who should bear the cost of higher education. Many argue that students should pay for their studies while others debate that the government should take responsibility. In my opinion, governments must pay for students. I will discuss both arguments in the below paragraphs. Firstly, University studies suit only a tiny section of people. A major chunk of the citizens does not hold a college degree. Taking the example of the United States of America for a while, only 30% of the entire population have a university degree and less than 5% have doctoral degrees. In addition, higher education is expensive because of various reasons such as the establishment and maintenance of state-of-the-art laboratories, and upgradation to newer technologies. Spending such hefty amounts of hard-earned taxpayers' money would be less beneficial than spending on some other welfare activity. On the other hand, the technological advancements that we are witnessing today are only because of that tiny chunk of society with doctoral and postgraduate degrees. Their smarter brains are vital in the research and development of new products. As per a recent report, 80% of Indian startups are established by the graduates of the institutes like IITs and IIMs. On the other hand, these companies are improving the economic status of the nation through the taxes that they pay and through their employees. To sum up, education is the key to success. Society should encourage citizens to study more and grab more knowledge. Also, spending amount on study must be encouraged and should be seen as a careful investment for the future. But, certain checks have to be tightened in awarding scholarships and subsidies to worthy candidates and also giving them the opportunity to pay for their studies.