In many countries, city planners locate offices, schools, homes and shops in certain areas so that they are separated. Do you think the advantages of this practice outweigh the disadvantages?

In most nations around the world, cities are developed by planners in particular regions so that certain amenities like offices, schools, shops and homes are located within reach. I am of the opinion that this practice is beneficial, and outweighs the demerit. On the one hand, when cities are well-planned, they tend to increase the cost of living. This is due to the presence of many social amenities and infrastructures. Many people who earn low do not have enough to live in these cities, as such, they live in the suburbs. For example, New York City is planned with vast infrastructure and a good road network. However, it is the most expensive city to live in and only the rich have mansions and offices in it according to the New York Time magazine, June 12, 2010. On the other hand, a well-developed city makes transportation easy across the various parts of the region. This is because access roads are situated within reaching distance of facilities like schools, homes and shops. For instance, has one of the best road networks, offices and shops because it is a well-planned neighbourhood. Secondly, cities that are well structured have better security. This is due to the fact that security offices and outposts are located in these places. This will curb crime, and ensure a secure town. In conclusion, I believe that a city with a master plan despite the high living cost has more merits because it provides dwellers with a secured township with easy access to amenities, and infrastructures.