Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, children and teenagers devote hours to using their phones each day. This, in my opinion, results from social media’s exceptional ability to keep users’ attention. It should be viewed as a negative development because it can make children ’s mental health receive bad influences. In this internet era, social media are extremely good at providing people with content that holds their attention. They track user behaviours like search history and video types watched most, and analyze these data by the methods of machine learning so that they can produce more personalized content for users, which can make users stick with the smartphones. Since children tend to lack self-control, they could spend all their time on “interesting” content and consequently waste most of their precious time that should be used to pursue their dreams. Unfortunately, hours of phone time every day can affect harmfully children ’s mental development. For example, short videos in TikTok, which are thoroughly selected to attract adolescents, are filled with others’ perfect lives. Many kids feel frustrated after watching these videos and probably strive to keep up with each other. Furthermore, this can keep children from concentrating on the things that really matter, such as learning, sports and accompanying families. Imagine that people don’t communicate with each other and are immersed in their own virtual world, while the real world becomes unreal, I think no one wants to see this in the future. In conclusion, some children spend a large amount of time on their phones every day because social media constantly presents them with content designed to keep their attention. Sadly, this can cause adverse influences on their mental health.