In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

In some cultures, children are frequently advised that their dreams will come true if they work hard. This trend may be beneficial for encouraging people to value the process, yet is harmful at the same time because they tend to loosely accuse the process if the outcome opposes their effort. Firstly, the advisement of working as hard as possible may stir people to focus on how they should be able to use their power and ability to achieve their goals. The attempt ultimately will build up self-confidence, because they pay more attention to how to improve themselves for a specific purpose, instead of just being result-oriented persons. For example, Albert Alaika, an Indonesian professional runner, once said that what made him on the first stage in the 2019 running competition was not because of the weakness of his competitors, but because he exercised more than others far before the race. However, such outlooks have the disadvantages as well. One of which is people are prone to looking for scapegoats if they face the failure of their goals. This is because they have already put immense expectations during preparation times, while the results in fact show otherwise. For instance, children might develop the belief that any mistake is due to their own lack of effort, which can lead to undue stress and self-blame. Therefore, many experts say that expectation kills your happiness. In conclusion, the teaching of trying hard in order to make our dreams come true possesses advantages for self-development, yet contains disadvantages as well for mental health because it allows us to expect more for the result.