Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Rather than working for a company, self-employment has been a more popular option for people nowadays. This happens because they are free to manage their own working hours. However, being self-employed has its own disadvantages, namely undeveloped interpersonal skills and an unstable income. Being able to have flexible working hours may be an interesting option for workers as it is easier for them to adjust their hustle hours according to their preferences. For example, social media influencers can create contents even if it is outside of regular office working hours, which means they still could do their jobs even in the evening or late at night. Moreover, people can have more than one job if they are able to determine their working hours. To give an illustration, someone is able to work as copywriter for half of their working hours and switch to advertisement specialist for the rest of it. However, self-employment has remarkable drawbacks, such as a lack of interpersonal skills. Being self-employed means working alone most of the time without extensive teamwork. For instance, stock traders bid and sell their shares on their own and no teamwork is required. Another drawback that may occur is obtaining less income at times. There is no guarantee that the products or services that they offer are always in demand, especially cyclical goods, which consumers will not buy regularly. Online shop owners are the ones who are most likely to encounter this problem, as their earnings depend on how many sales are made each month. In conclusion, self-employment is an appealing alternative for many people due to its tempting flexibility in working hours, although there are drawbacks that may occur, including the fact that some people will be unable to work in team and have unsteady earnings. If independent workers can overcome these issues, then being a freelancer may be a promising profession in the long run.