Some people think that fresh water should be freely available, while others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The topic of the consumption of freshwater has been controversial. Some people believe that they can consume fresh water as much as they want, whereas I agree with those who think that the freshwater water supply should be restricted by the government because the sources are limited. On the one hand, it is commonly believed that people consume fresh water freely without awareness. The most important reason is that people believe that they have paid for the water bill so they should be able to use the service as much as they want. To illustrate this, in recent news, it has been reported that the water companies have been providing 80% of clean water to the household for many years. The companies have increased service charges every year; therefore that may make people think about whether it is right to use what they have paid for. On the other hand, it seems to me that the sources of fresh water are limited. So that freshwater consumption should be restricted by the government. For example, according to the latest study conducted by Bangkok University, it was revealed that water covers about 71% of the earth's surface. But only 3% of that water is freshwater. Furthermore, some sources of that are not even clean water or useable. In the long term, if we continue to use fresh water without awareness, we will lack fresh water in the future. Consequently, the government should make the restriction on using fresh water in the household and industries, and also educate people to be aware of lacking fresh water. I agree with this point because the government has the power to restrict the consumption of fresh water. In conclusion, having considered both sides of this topic, although people have the right to consume fresh water in their daily living as much as they want, I agree with those who think that the government should make restrictions to control using water. I strongly support that as the resources of fresh water are limited.