It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in media-rich society.

Due to the advancement of technology, it is inevitable that media significantly affects the ways of people’s lives. This essay will deliberately explain the benefits and drawbacks of the existence of the technology. Regarding the advantages, most people can easily obtain up-to-date information without finding time and distance issues by surfing websites. This opportunity might provide them about the current situation of their civilization fast. For example, when the government announces on mass media they introduce new regulations in order to control the usage of private vehicles, societies will know the rule quickly after they read an online newspaper. Moreover, owing to advanced telecommunications, there is an increasing trend in shopping online leading to economic growth. It may have encouraged many merchants to sell products and customer to buy their stuff. If this action occurs continuously, it will stimulate cash flow in their countries as shoppers can get many profits from their online market and they will hire their employees to assist them to promote their products to the marketplace. Finally, it might reduce the number of unemployed people. Conversely, one major disadvantage of the matter would be the spreading of fake information as the facility of technology permits societies to take messages freely and even those who share them with their surroundings. If they do not crosscheck it carefully, they will harm their victims. To illustrate, some opponents of the authority make inaccurate information about false rules like the results of leader elections. If communities believe it, there will be disputes and even fighting in a certain country because they support their chosen figure exaggeratedly. Another demerit is the activity of stealing people’s identity where hackers get this personal data by hacking the accounts of victims. For instance, attackers hack the website of the government and then acquire the data of citizens such as number identity. Subsequently, they attack a certain bank and later steal money. To conclude, accessing new information comfortably and marketing goods through online markets are the main benefits. However, there are drawbacks of media such as disseminated hoaxes and theft of identity.