Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, punishing culprits for their offences is essential to maintain decorum in any country. Some people opine that putting criminals behind the bars is not the only solution. They should rather be involved in community work. This essay will discuss the advantages of this perspective and conclude with my opinion. To commence with, a few people get imprisonment for their misdeeds but they do not cause any major threat to society due to the nature of their crimes like pick-pocketing, chain snatching, domestic violence and robbery. They can be put behind the bars for a certain period and then given a chance to improve. However, these kinds of prisoners can be improved by involving in certain activities rather than putting them behind the bars. For example, "an empty mind is a devil workshop" so, If they remain idle, doing nothing in the bars, they will think negatively and plan to attempt offence even after being released from prison but, if they will be indulged in community work, they will remain busy and do not get chance to think evil. Secondly, few people attempt small crimes because they do not have any job or work to do. Including them in some work will help them find a suitable job after, they will be released from their punishment and it will eventually increase the scope of improvisation and make them better human beings. For example, they can be involved in construction, cleaning and gardening. In a nutshell, I firmly agree with the group of people who believe that this phenomenon involves a positive outcome to bring change into society and the government should make some preventive measures to implement this activity in future.