In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this fast-paced world, many individuals believe that there should be major investments in the railway sector to build infrastructure supporting very fast trains. On the opposite side, others suggest improving the existing transportation system. In my opinion, setting up fast train tracks is the better alternative. Therefore, this issue needs further discussion. To begin with, many people believe that investing in fast trains leads to growth in our economy and tourism. If the travel time for logistics reduces, railways can handle more freight to earn higher profits. Moreover, tourists prefer to save their precious time by travelling in faster trains. For instance, The Bullet train in Japan and Vande Bharat in India have transformed the transport sector. On the other hand, others believe in improving the existing public transport because it involves less expenditure. Improving the existing system needs less capital and time. For example, Japan allocates a major portion of its transport budget to improve the existing system and only allocates the remaining funds to new rail lines. In my opinion, building faster train lines can lead to better socio-economic advantages. This investment will create more jobs, improve our freight handling system and reduce the traffic congestion on roads. However, we need to allocate a fixed proportion of funds to maintain the present structures. This has been clearly reflected in India’s recent rail budget. Hence, both concepts go hand-in-hand. To conclude, fast mobility transport can improve growth and tourism whereas it is equally important to maintain and improve the existing transportation. Overall, governments can choose to maintain a healthy balance between these two concepts.