A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems might these differences cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It is true that increasing the living standard in a nation has more impact on metropolises than suburbans. This phenomenon has several impacts on society, and there are feasible solutions to mitigate it. These would be elaborated on in the following paragraphs. Firstly, this phenomenon prevents the authorities in remote areas from addressing social issues. Specifically, areas where poverty exists always bring a higher crime rate because unemployed citizens must resort to criminal activities to financially support themselves. Education facilities, namely schools or learning tools, are extremely limited, which results in low education levels in rural areas. Secondly, urban centres would suffer from overpopulation. Because of the widening gap between cities and countries, a significant number of citizens migrate to metropolises to work as well as enjoy a higher standard of living. Therefore, this phenomenon puts pressure on housing and traffic systems, lowering the living quality of urban centres. To tackle this problem, the officials play an important role in creating changes. First of all, the government should require businesses to move to rural areas. Specifically, the suburbs comprise large areas of land and an abundant workforce. Consequently, moving companies to the previously said locations allows businesses to operate on a large scale, take advantage of the labour force and reduce the migration needs of citizens. Secondly, the authorities should allocate tax money to developing infrastructures in suburban areas. Specifically, improving facilities would encourage employees to return to their hometown to contribute after graduation, because they recognize their homeland as well-equipped as other metropolises. In fact, most Vietnamese individuals reckon that Hai Phong, Vietnam’s coastal land, is a destination worth living in more than the capital Hanoi. In conclusion, this phenomenon causes social issues in remote areas and overpopulation in urban centres. To solve this problem, the government should bring solutions, namely moving companies to suburbs and allocating tax money effectively.