Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems and traffic jams is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Never have the topics concerning the public’s daily lives failed to attract people’s attention. And when it comes to raising the expenditure on petrol to surmount environmental issues and traffic congestion, I agree that it is an effective way to deal with the current conditions, but not the best solution. It is undeniable that this step can mitigate environmental contamination and severe traffic jams. To begin with, increasing the petrol price can help to reduce environmental contamination. It is conducive to diminishing the excessive emission of carbon dioxide, which is the culprit of the greenhouse effect. All of the current conditions can be largely attributed to the large proliferation of private cars. On condition that we increase gasoline fees, the exhaust gas and haze would be largely reduced. Therefore, such a measure will possibly alleviate air pollution. Additionally, an increased price of petrol can decrease the number of cars on the roads. People will choose public transportation rather than driving cars when the petrol price is unaffordable. In that case, the number of vehicles on the street will decline and the traffic congestion is inclined to be mitigated. However, many other methods can be done to solve those issues, which are as effective as increasing the cost of petrol. For instance, cutting-edge technologies can cure environmental problems fundamentally. A number of advanced technologies have been applied to integrate traditional energies with alternative energies to design hybrid cars, which are expected to achieve zero emissions and zero pollution, thus reducing air pollution. Apart from that, the government has the ability and responsibility to allocate more money to improve the infrastructure construction, such as the subways, trains, etc. Provided that the public service can be developed, the masses can be evacuated from the overcrowdedness of the streets. In conclusion, even though the rise in fuel price can contribute to solving those thorny problems, I am against the opinion that it is the best solution, but contend that other methods can exert some positive effects to the same extent.