Some say that university students should pay the full cost of their studies because higher education only benefits the students and not the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some groups of individuals argue that students attending tertiary institutions should bear the full costs of their tuition because higher academia benefits the individual rather than society as a whole. This essay disagrees with this viewpoint because some of these scholars are intelligent but needy. Also, knowledge acquired from these institutions benefits society as a whole. To begin with, people who believe individuals should take full responsibility for their education mostly point to the fact that the certificate awarded to them after completion benefits them individually rather than the entire society. However, it is important to establish the fact that most students are intelligent but lack financial assistance. Hence, this limits their ability to achieve higher education and become responsible citizens. A survey conducted by a group of researchers in the Northern part of Ghana indicated that about 10% of individuals who completed Senior High School in 2020 achieved the desired results to further their studies, but, due to financial constraints, were unable to do so. In addition, education continues to play a pivotal role in the lives of people. Public servants such as; lawyers, teachers, doctors, and nurses, just to mention a few, directly offer their services to society. The government, NGOs and other organizations that can offer financial assistance must be encouraged to do so. This will subsequently result in the training of qualified personnel whose input will promote the overall growth of the country. For example, the National Science and Maths program, which is organized yearly in Ghana by the Ministry of Education, has provided over 1,000 fully funded scholarships to students over the past five decades. Some of these beneficiaries are now giving back to society in different fields. In conclusion, whereas some people opine that educational cost should be an individual responsibility, I disagree because not all students are financially stable and the acquisition of skills benefits society as a whole.