You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some individuals believe that conducting experiments on animals is unjustifiable and argue that this practice should be banned. Conversely, others contend that animal testing has yielded significant results within scientific research. In my view, however, such experiments are not acceptable due to the harmful effects they have on the animals involved, and given the advances in technology and computer science, scientists now have other methods at their disposal to predict the effects of various components used in product development. In the past, it was common to utilize animals to test products prior to their market release. However, many organizations have since demonstrated that the practice of using laboratories to conduct animal tests is detrimental. They have emphasized the negative repercussions and suffering experienced by animals exposed to different chemicals. For example, some rabbits used in makeup testing ended up blind or suffering from severe skin burns. These outcomes reinforce my belief that experimentation on animals is unjustifiable and should be prohibited. The challenge we face is determining how to test these products before they are offered for sale to the public. I believe that scientists can collaborate and leverage the data collected over the past few decades regarding the effects of various substances and their potential solutions. By employing artificial intelligence or statistical modelling, they can predict the possible side effects that might arise in humans who use these products. This approach is akin to the method used by doctors, who make diagnoses based on previous cases, which has proven beneficial in providing care even in remote areas. In conclusion, animal testing should not be permitted. On one hand, the consequences of such tests can jeopardize the lives of the animals involved. On the other hand, there are viable alternatives that can reduce animal usage, supported by statistical data gathered by laboratories around the world.