In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It can be seen in many cultures that children are taught that they should try and work hard in anything in order to make their life successful or achieve their goals. In my opinion, trying hard would increase a chance of success and create a good mindset but there will also have some drawbacks. In the following paragraphs, the reason to support my opinion will be discussed in detail. On the positive side, trying hard in children can lead them to be successful people easily. For example, students who have to take an exam can improve their scores by putting in the effort to read books and practice for the test every day. As a result, they would get a sense of achievement, leading them to be happier and more confident. Another advantage is that children tend to have a good mindset to accept bad situations and don’t give up easily in anything challenging them because they believe that they can achieve it one day if they continually improve themselves and try hard enough. Hence, if they have belief in trying hard, they would have more positive mindset to deal with the problems. On the other hand, On the other hand, children who push themselves too hard to achieve success may become overwhelmed and stressed, which can lead to negative consequences such as depression. Thus, it will affect their minds and make them unhappy. Another downside might happen if children put a lot of effort into the wrong things, such as the lotto. For instance, some people believe that they can be rich people if they try hard to invest their money in the lotto. This thing can destroy their lives in the future, leading them to break and facing with financial problems. In conclusion, while there are plus points to a hard effort in something, too much would affect negatively in some aspects, such as leading to self-disappointment and depression. Moreover, trying hard in something bad could lead them into a bad situation.