Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

News provides us with most of the essential information that helps us to understand what's happening around us. With the surge of modernism, the news is presented through different platforms such as the Internet, TV, newspapers, etc. Therefore, it is very critical to consider whether we read these reports in favour of our views or the contrary. Although some may consider that it is better to watch news presented by people who hold the same perspective, I personally, agree with the statement that it is recommended to listen to different views. I strongly feel this way for two main reasons, which I shall delve into in the following essay. First and foremost, observing in a contrasting manner broadens our scope of knowledge and understanding. What we may think is right but in the fact it might be incorrect. My own life is an example of this. When I started learning about the keto diet in the news, it broadcasted positive and efficient results, which made me start the keto regime. But down the lane, I understood that there were some added negative effects with this diet when I heard about it from a different broadcast. Listening to divergent views will improve our critical thinking and hence, increase our width of thinking. Secondly, reading opposing views will help us to see things more from an objective perspective. When we listen to views of the same opinions we tend to think only subjectively. Factual matters determine the solidity of content rather than hearsay information. For example, I was under the assumption that genetically modified food is harmful, based on the news report I read. But reading about it online on a different broadcast written by scientists said that some are genetically modified to be more healthy and more organic. Having objective thinking in matters will help us to get a clear picture of the scenario. In conclusion, although, some people may hinder from watching any contrasting views because they might not have gone through any contrasting instance, I personally believe that watching the news which presents different views than our own will help us to broaden our knowledge and as well as improve our objective thinking.