Many people these days change career throughout their working life. What are the main reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development for them personally and for the society as a whole?

Nowadays people change their jobs throughout their working lives. There are many factors leading to this issue and there are advantages and disadvantages to the individual as well as the society they are living in. This essay will critically evaluate further about this issue. First and foremost, individuals may change careers due to economic factors. It is a common occurrence that people will look for financial incentives such as higher salaries in other fields. The need to further improve their income might be also driven by inflation and economic downturn. Consequently, increased financial stability will in turn improve one ’s standard of living and quality of life. Secondly, people may change jobs for better job satisfaction and personal fulfilment. To explain this, at the initial phase of their career, one may accept any job offer as a start even though it does not align with their desires. Eventually, along the way, they gain new insights, and new goals to pursue, or become more focused on their passion in life which influences them to change jobs. Turning to the next point, one of the advantages of career change is the person will have the opportunity to acquire new skills and experiences. For example, people who have work experience in manufacturing and marketing will be equipped with skills and understanding of business ventures and enhance their creativity in the field. In contrast, employers may suffer a loss of workforce and manpower due to frequent job changes. Consequently, employers may need to spend time and money to train a highly skilled worker. By and large, salary increments, and personal preferences are some of the many reasons people change their careers. Improvement of one ’s skill is one of the advantages of career change while one of the setbacks to the employer is loss of manpower. Therefore, it depends on the individuals to weigh the benefits of a career change to suit their needs