The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other private vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

New environmental problems are arising daily and they are causing a great deal of stress to the world. Many of our environmental issues arise due to low air quality index. I agree that reducing the accessibility to fuel for private vehicles can solve many of our environmental problems. Private cars are one of the most preferred media of transport, while they are very convenient and personal they are also a major contributing factor to carbon dioxide emission which is harmful to the earth's ozone layer as well as causes lower air quality index. While people want to keep their independence of transport it is necessary to take precautionary actions to keep the earth safe for our upcoming generations. Increasing fuel prices can contribute greatly towards healing the earth, as it will motivate people to use public transport instead of private to save them money. The ozone layer will be less affected by lower CO2 emissions, and the refinery working to extract fuel will work for fewer hours and thus contribute towards a greener environment. An indirect benefit this price increase will yield is towards the bad situation of the traffic as there will be fewer private vehicles. While the fuel prices will go up it will also save money on car maintenance as people will use their cars less than normal and require minimal care. However, increasing fuel prices will affect all areas of our life such as; the cost of transportation will increase. This will result in goods being expensive but with all the fuel money saved by using public transport, it will even out the effect. In conclusion, I think increasing fuel prices will benefit our environment as well as help us eliminate many health complications. It will also contribute towards helping us eliminate issues like traffic and maintenance of private vehicles.