Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is often said that people prefer to learn a new tongue for the origin of visiting other countries or looking for an occupation there. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward and arguments can be also made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support the idea claim that travelers may want to be able to communicate properly with the locals of a foreign country. If you went abroad and had no idea the language of the state, you would not enjoy your trip because of the language barrier. Another argument is that being fluent in different languages would benefit job seekers’ resumes, especially if they are new graduates. It is clear that there is keen competition between unemployees to find an occupation, resulting in increased motivation for them to know more languages and get the job effortlessly. For example, recruiters of the biggest companies like Google, consider the language abilities of applicants and ask them to speak in that language during job interviews. By contrast, opponents of learning languages for only work or travel highlight that this may be necessary to understand some scientific resources or content on the internet. Most articles and knowledge are in different languages which fosters scientists to learn these tongues. Germany can be given as an example for making medical publications in their mother tongue, causing health workers around the world to know German to catch updates. Moreover, a person may be interested in knowing various tounges according to the critics of the topic, especially for an aim of making online connections with people from various states. For instance, it is observed that the majority of players of video games can speak English fluently, which demonstrates other encouragements would exist. In conclusion, I would tend to side with those who oppose the statement. It appears to be that going abroad and work opportunities can be some of the range of reasons for learning a new language. It is logical to conclude that there numerous factors other than these such as online sources and proper connections with foreigners.