People are not exercising regularly, even though they know it is beneficial for their health. Why is this a problem? What can be done to tackle it?

A well-known and proven fact is that exercise keeps us fit and healthy. Besides that, it also improves immunity to tackle serious diseases. In spite of this, many people do not turn up for workouts for numerous reasons. This is a serious concern and should be taken seriously to solve before it transforms into a disaster. Firstly, staying fit and healthy is considered a boon by many because an active body will fight against the intrusion of foreign organisms. For example, the public who kept themselves active during the COVID-19 pandemic were not infected with the virus. Additionally, agility will elongate the lifespan of an individual, nullifying the probability of falling sick frequently. On the other hand, the obese population is increasing gradually. As per a report from the World Health Organization, India stands at the top of the list with the most number of diabetic patients. This worrying trend will worsen if people continue to sit for long hours in front of the computer and consume junk food without modifying their daily routines. It will hamper an entire generation and can affect future generations too. Thus it is critical and need of the hour to be healthy and fit. To conclude, towards lessening the unhealthy citizens, governments, societies and individuals should start to join hands together. Awareness camps and frequent body checkups should be initiated to let more people follow the campaign. In addition, governments should take a leap ahead and establish open gyms wherever possible to encourage citizens to perform some physical activities. Communities should commence marathons and other group sports to enlighten all levels of society on the importance of fitness.