Despite the fact that tourism contributes a great deal to economies around the world, it damages local cultures and the environment. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that tourism damages local cultures and the natural environment in spite of the fact that it helps economically in the world. Is there any merit to this belief? There are two reasons to support this idea: firstly, the tourists destroy them and secondly, governments spend too much funds on promoting tourism. First of all, we must recognize that tourists unconsciously tend to destroy local cultures and the environment due to the fact that many of them do not follow local rules. These can include visiting prohibited areas or disturbing staff who are engaged in cultural professions. By way of an example, tourists from overseas concentrate to enjoy their travel and ignore the rules which aim to protect local cultures and the natural environment. According to the article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper published last week, eight of ten Japanese who work for temples in Kyoto answered that because many visitors from foreign countries carved their name on the wall of the building even though it is prohibited, they felt the culture and environment were gradually damaged. Consequently, tourists have adverse impacts on them. Secondly, governments invest less money in protecting cultures and the environment than in the tourist industry. This causes serious problems related to these. In fact, research recently conducted by The University of Tokyo discovered that the Government of Japan can allocate 6 billion dollars to the cultural and environmental areas a year if they stop spending too much money on the tourist industry. As a result, many Japanese people now claim that the government protect their culture and natural environment rather than welcoming tourist which simply increases the GDP. In conclusion, there are serious disadvantages caused by tourism because tourists do not follow local rules to protect local cultures and the environment, and governments do not pay attention to them very much. We should consider the situation and take action to make this better.