Some people believe that governments should invest more money in public transportation instead of building new roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is increasingly common to see overcrowded cities in need of an efficient public transportation system as well as new roads. While some people claim that more money should be spent on building new streets, highways and routes, I strongly believe that the transport system should be prioritised because it provides the means for students and workers to get to school and workplaces every day. To begin with, one major problem associated with building infrastructure is the incentives for authorities to divert funds to other short-term political projects. Additionally, this was the case with the highway from Buenos Aires to La Pampa, the number 5 National Road, which should have been built 10 years ago. This can largely be attributed to the absence of an appropriate accountability mechanism to make officials responsible for their actions, at least in Latin-American countries. A further consideration is the time needed to build large infrastructure projects which can last for a decade, while improving what already exists could be considerably faster. Secondly, governments should make people’s lives easier, and that could be achieved through improving the current transit system so users can take advantage of it. Furthermore, students need to reduce commuting time to study while workers need to reduce it to spend time with their families. More tellingly, many young employees are experiencing burnout syndrome, depression and anxiety disorders because of long working hours, which makes it virtually impossible to find a healthy work-life balance. Improving the transport system could mean increasing the frequency of buses, make them more comfortable and environmentally friendly. Subsequently, public authorities could also include new ways for existing units of transportation. In conclusion, despite the public transportation system being challenging for every society, a comprehensive and wide-ranging perspective is required. I strongly believe that officials should focus on improving the current system, because that would make it easier for students and workers to move around the city without wasting time.