Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

In recent years, a debate regarding testing in education has emerged. In particular, there are some arguments against them affirming that they cause more harm than benefits. I personally think that examinations are important, but in nowadays society, they should not be the only way to evaluate students. It is undoubtedly true that tests have some major advantages, which have caused their large spread. Firstly, they not only are efficient in assessing knowledge but also in assessing the ability to recall it under pressure. For instance, research suggests that people who are good at taking tests are also good at meeting deadlines. Furthermore, examinations are the fairest assessment method, especially if standardized, because the professors' opinions have a limited impact on the final mark. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to state that they have more valid features than detrimental ones. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages that cannot be overseen. One of them is that many students have difficulties in taking tests because of anxiety caused by them, and for this they underperform, even if the amount of study was sufficient. Moreover, linked to this issue, tests do not evaluate the knowledge of the pupil, but if they can provide proof of this knowledge in a precise moment, this could penalise people who have difficulties in expressing themselves under pressure. Finally, exams do not test teamwork capacity, that in modern society is one of the main skills required by employers. For example, some studies show that teamwork is more important that any other theoretical ability in the workplace, thus advocating for more focus on it during education. In conclusion, I think that current tests have to be maintained, but their role should be reduced. As stated above, they have a series of downsides that could be resolved if, alongside them, some sort of group work is added, a thing that many institutions, such as universities, are doing. Overall, their benefits still outweigh the disadvantages, but they could be enhanced even more with some minor modifications.