Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It has been noticed that many individuals prefer to wear stylish clothes. Although there are some advantages associated with this development, they are clearly outweighed by the enormity of disadvantages. This discourse ahead will arrive at a logical conclusion after having critically examined the good and bad related to this development. There arguably are certain merits of wearing stylish pieces of clothing. First and foremost is the longevity of clothes. It is an irrefutable fact that if you buy fashionable clothes you do not need to spend every other month for a new purchase of clothes, since these apparels come with durability and sustainability. Take Levis, as an example. Jeans purchased from this brand last for years without any wear and tear. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to wearing fashionable clothes. To begin with, the loss of a country’s culture. It is an undeniable fact that our culture is reflected by what we wear. With the advent of social media the world has now become a global village due to which youth of today’s generation are highly influenced by the western societies. They feel western clothes are much more fashionable than their country’s style of clothing. To exemplify, “Kurtas” were considered to be the identity of Indian culture among men, which has taken a back seat as men started wearing western clothes like Jeans and T-shirts. Another reason is the increase in juvenile crimes. It is an undeniable fact that fashionable clothes are pricey and it can not be afforded by some parents for their kids. This unaffordability instigates jealousy among kids who can not buy such clothes and forces them to follow bad practices like stealing so that they can look like other kids whose parents can afford costly fashionable clothes. To conclude, despite the undeniable advantages, I firmly believe that there are far more disadvantages to wearing fashionable clothes. This is because of erosion of the country's culture and increase in child crimes.