With a growing population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Hunger is one of the important problems that needs attention considering an increase of Earth’s population. There is an opinion that GM foods could solve this issue. In my opinion, I believe that GM food technology can help to provide food for all people throughout the world. Some people believe that transgenic food is dangerous. Therefore, there are concerns that GMO plants can affect the human gene system and cause cancer and infertility, although research about it is very limited. Scientists claim that genetically altered food is safe for human health and there are GMO plants that are allowed to be used by the government. Nevertheless, authorities should keep an eye on this technology and if there will be in the future evidence that we can’t consume GM food, we should probably look for another way to resolve hunger, but as a temporary solution it could be considered. Secondly, properties obtained as a result of genetic modification of food are growth acceleration, improvement of nutritional and technological properties of products. For example, mostly bioengineering plants are resistant to insect pests meaning that growing costs are reduced. Additionally, genetically improved seeds can increase the harvest than normal seeds.All these factors lead to ease and cheap food production. To conclude, I believe that GM foods could be a possible solution to hunger. But there is a certain responsibility on the government to control GM plants developing in part of danger to human health. Thus, until proven that bioengineered food is dangerous, it can be the way to escape hunger in places where this problem has become critical.