Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

Currently, minors spend much time reading kids' storybooks is a waste of time compared with other practical activities that they can do. The statement causes an increasing number of individuals agreement. In my humble opinion, I do disagree with that, due to some obvious reasons. On the one hand, reading these types of materials, specifically, fairy tales definitely can help them to develop their creativity because numerous contents of these books are written by the fecundity of imagination. Moreover, it is undisputable fact that it is an efficient method to teach those how to use their brain to build a magic world. In addition, a meaningful result from a scientific report can provide powerful evidence to support an opinion, of which pupils are the most period to forest their creativity due to an excellent imaginative brain. So, it hardly says that reading story books represent a waste of precious time. On the other hand, reading surely causes some potential health problems, including myopia and alienation. As a result, most of them who have a passion for reading have a sedentary lifestyle, which means they spend an amount of time sitting on their chair staring at tiny words that are printed on a piece of paper or letting rays from a computer screen jeopardize their eyes. Equally, it is not an uncommon social phenomenon that children can limit the development of social skills since they spend much time alone; therefore, regarding the drawbacks of reading, both physical and mental issues are worthing to focus on. In conclusion, although it seems minors need to spend much time doing other vital activities to avoid harmful results that are caused by reading, like myopia and alienation, it is extremely beneficial for pupils, so I cannot believe that reading is a waste of time behaviour.