Is freedom of speech essential in a free society? Give reasons for your answer.

In this modern era, everyone has the right to speak freely. In my opinion, freedom of speech is important for every person in a free society. This essay will discuss the reasons for the importance of speech these days in the subsequent paragraphs along with the conclusion. To begin with, there are ample reasons which justify that freedom of speech is essential. The preponderant one is raising a voice against crime and inequality. To explain, as we know, the rate of crime has increased rapidly. Everyone has the right to raise their voice and ask for justice. For instance, in the past women faced a lot of problems regarding their careers because they are not allowed to study and jobs. However, many famous personalities raise their voices for this and now women are free to fight for their rights against crime. Furthermore, another reason is the development of the nation by sharing thoughts freely. To explain, if people in society give their opinion to the government and raise their voices for their needs and wants related to academic and job opportunities. It definitely helps in the growth of a nation. For example, if individuals raise their voices for good facilities and education it leads to a good society, however, if it will not be done then people in society may face crime at an excessive rate and no one will ask for justice. Moreover, it is our right to speak against everything like, crime, inequality, and misbehaviour by others. To recapitulate, freedom of speech is equal for everyone without any discrimination, in my opinion, it will lead to a better society.