Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Food production and food distribution have long been the subject of fierce debate among proponents and opponents of import and export regulations. One of the moot points in their discussions is the question whether nations should rely on domestically produced food only and thus avoid the need to import food items. Even though I am inclined to side with the people who are in favour of food import, I realise the parties who are against this also have several valid arguments. This clearly is a topic which requires a nuanced analysis, as there are so many different factors to be considered. One of the main reasons why some people argue that countries should only provide locally produced food to their residents is sustainability. It does indeed seem logical that food production within a nation has a less negative impact on the environment because it requires much shorter transportation lines to shops and consumers. In addition, the domestic agricultural sector and the local economy in general will thrive if there is no leakage of money to other nations. However, what should also be taken into account is the notion of solidarity between countries and continents. Due to climate and the layout of the land, certain nations do not have access to all basic food stuffs to feed their population. For example, mountainous regions, cold countries or desert areas may not be able to produce wheat, rice or fresh vegetables and fruits. There has been ample research which claims there is enough to feed the entire world population, but this requires countries with a highly productive agricultural sector to export their products to countries suffering from a general or seasonal scarcity in food. In conclusion, despite sustainability being an extremely important reason to focus on locally produced food, I firmly believe there should be an equal division of the available food products across the globe. Therefore, I support food import as a means for a better distribution of these items.