Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that people nowadays tend to face many health problems which are sometimes caused by high sugar levels in food and drink products that are produced by various manufacturing industries. As a consequence, it is argued that consumer goods with sugar contained should have high prices to make people avoid consuming a lot of sugary products. I disagree with this statement because sugar is still an essential nutrient and expensive sugary food and drink affect some businesses. In the following paragraphs, the reason to support my opinion will be discussed in detail. First of all, sugar is an essential nutrient for our bodies because it makes energy and keeps ourselves to be active. If sugary products are too expensive, some people can’t effort to buy products with contained sugar. As a result, they tend to consume too less of sugar required per day and it leads people to get energy less than the standard, worsening their health in the long run. For example, sugar taxes in some countries made some sweet food high prices, some poor people in remote areas can’t buy this food because of high costs. Thus, they tend to have many health problems as the effect of consuming less sugar in daily life. Secondly, even if the high price of sugary products may work to make people consume less sugar, the too expensive price of sugary goods will also make businesses suffer from the number of customers lost. This can lead to other problems such as poverty, and unemployment to name but a few. Finally, it may destroy economic systems which is worse than making some people avoid eating too much sugar. In conclusion, even though sugar may affect health problems, we can avoid these cases by consuming it in suitable quantities. Expensive sugary products do not always work to reduce the number of sugar consumed by people because people still need sugar as an essential nutrient and some entrepreneurs may face losing their revenue and profits, leading to other problems in the country or the world.