Some people think that schools should teach students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although some people think that students with the same academic abilities should be grouped in one class, others oppose that a mixed academic level environment would be more auspicious for all students. I believe each view has its own advantages, I advocate the latter one, however. Many support the idea that students should be classified according to their academic achievement because a mixed environment results in much pressure on the weaker ones for fear of not being able to catch up with their fellows. Besides, the talented group is held back and is not capable of developing their full potential. For example, if the teacher spends too much time explaining to several students, it will be a waste of time for the others when they can do more advanced exercises. Therefore, many schools have sorted freshmen based on their knowledge. On the other hand, others highlight that all people should be treated fairly in every aspect including education. The separation of different levels of students may widen the gap between the people in society. For instance, if all the pupils in a class do not have good academic performance, there is no target or pressure for them to try harder. In contrast, the top performers receive more privileges at school and become more successful in life. Consequently, the rich become richer, and the poor become poorer. That's why sorting students into different groups is not a wise choice to make. In my opinion, children should not be separated, as only academic abilities are not enough to Judge the intelligence of the students. A student who is not good at studies, may have some other qualities, which he may pass on to the other students. I would rather suggest what I had in my school, and that is extra coaching for weak students. It serves the purpose best as teachers save their time and energy and yet maintain effectiveness. To sum up, each method of grouping learners has its benefits; nevertheless, for the sake of the whole society, it's necessary that all school participants deserve a fair chance at everything.