Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.**To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people choose alternative medicine over professional doctors. In my opinion, it is a negative development, as it can lead to unexpected results and potentially could harm someone’s health. Firstly, we cannot be sure if the person performing alternative medicine treatment is trustworthy and if their skills are on the level of treating people. Moreover, there is no guarantee this person even received any training and is not a fraudster, whereas a professional doctor can always prove their skills with a diploma. As an example, it could happen that someone is doing alternative medicine to lure money from desperate people. In other words, alternative medicine can be used as a fraud. Secondly, the efficiency of alternative treatment is not verified. In contrast with official medicine, there is little to no scientific research on methods of alternative medicine. Besides, the result of such treatment cannot be predicted, while certified doctors almost always can say in advance all the outcome of their action. For example, officially approved medicines, such as painkillers, always go with the explanation of all possible reactions of one’s body as well as the conditions under which the person should restrain from using these drugs. In other terms, it is uncertain to what result such medicine can lead. In conclusion, the help of medical experts cannot be replaced with other ways of treatment, as the latter is not confirmed to be helpful. Furthermore, it can be used with bad intentions and can lead to unpredictable outcomes.