As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a contentious topic about the fact that businesses, apart from making a good profit, also have to be responsible for the well-being of society. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement due to the fact that the lack of responsibility of firms and cooperations can have a detrimental effect on the environment as well as the salary of their workers. First and foremost, the outcome of businesses only focusing on maximising their profit can have a negative effect on the environment. Researchers from Harvard University have found out that the waste created by factories is one of the main reasons for the alarming environmental situation that the world is facing right now. Therefore, it is pivotal that businesses contribute their effort to protect the natural habitat. This can be done by reducing industrial waste as well as producing products that are friendly to the environment. Secondly, in the process of maximising their profit, firms will try to cut down on their expenses, leading to a decrease in the income of workers. A prime example of this matter is the fact that many international corporations choose China as their manufacturer because of the cheap labour cost. Hence, workers are paid a minimum wage, which is just barely enough to cover their cost of living. Thus, businesses should consider not only the benefit but as well the well-being of their employees. In conclusion, in addition to making money, businesses should likewise take responsibility for ensuring the well-being of society. This can be achieved by protecting the natural habitat and providing higher wages for their workers.