Topic: Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some individuals that the most efficient way to decrease illegal actions is to sentence prisoners to longer periods of time in jail. While some think that there are better choices for lowering the crime rate. In my opinion, these views are both correct in their own ways and I partially agree with both. Firstly, when a lawbreaker is kept behind bars they still can come out and commit another unlawful act because they don't get enough human interaction. So instead, we can make them do community service. This is better than them being locked up and not doing anything useful for the people. For instance, they can clean the highways or even the neighbourhoods. In other words, it's better for them to be helping us instead of having the chance to go out and do the same thing again afterwards. On the other hand, giving a criminal a higher prison sentence could help reduce crime if the government provides the following. Cellmates are mostly people that seek education, so if jails have places like schools where they can go and learn about things would help them a lot. For instance, a room where they can learn about chemistry, this enlightens them and after leaving and they can pursue their lives to become a teacher or even a student. This could help the society since it can occasionally be difficult to find teachers. In conclusion, giving longer time in jail time can be efficient if the lawbreakers have a place to get educated and learn from their mistakes. If not, they should work for the citizens. This can give them a helping hand further in their lifespan and also to the human kind