TODAY, CHILDREN AND TEENAGERS ARE COMMITING MORE CRIMES. WHY IS IT? HOW SHOULD THEY BE PUNISHED?

It is true that in contemporary society, more youngsters and adolescents are prone to commit crimes so early in life. There are some possible reasons to explain this trend, and appropriate practical methods are to be adopted to tackle the problem. The two main drivers are the lack of parental care and the interference of technology. Firstly, teenage is puberty age in which youngsters are overcoming both physical and mental changes. They normally do things on impulse and overreact to everything. At the same time, many parents are far too busy with their work, resulting in their kids not being educated properly, and easily becoming spoilt and rebellious. Secondly, children and adolescents have early access to social media which contains much toxic content. Young minds are inefficient in differentiating good and bad things; thus, they copy the bad things unintendedly. For example, a secondary- school student adjacent to my house has been caught for shoplifting as he imitated the action clearly described on a Facebook page. In order to prevent this serious social problem, some measures can be put forward. The prerequisite solution is that parents had better spend time chatting with their rebellious offspring more frequently so as to guide them with decent thoughts and behaviours. Additionally, those caught red-handed making serious crimes should be sent to tough therapy camps for training on how to behave properly. An example, to illustrate this point, is that there are many camps like that in the world, namely a brat camp in Utah, specially built for difficult teenagers whose parents have been desperate for them. Besides, at school, principals and teachers should provide students not only with theory but also practical life lessons and give warnings to those prone to commit an offence. For instance, sometimes psychologists should be invited to schools to give talks on the mentioned subject and other related ones. In short, parents, schools and the authority should coordinate to educate young criminals and more practical actions should be done in order to put the issue to an end as soon as possible.