Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is an undeniable fact that some animals are almost out of existence and others may suffer similar faith. Initially, I will state that the lack of animal conservation and indiscriminate human activities contribute to this effect, and then argue that educating the public and enacting laws will help sustain species diversity. On the one hand, the absence of appropriate conservatories continues to be the main reason why animals go extinct. The lack of animal parks and zoos leave them unprotected and hence, become prone to poaching. In addition, some bad practices such as; overfishing, bushfires and hunting, carried out by humans indiscriminately also play a major role in animal extinction. A survey conducted in the northern part of Ghana in 2020, indicated that the number of quarries has decreased significantly over the years due to extensive amount of hunting. On the other hand, public awareness through education on the economical and social importance of wildlife will help change human attitudes towards animals and hence, promote their lives. For example, according to an article published in 2021, South Africa has well-preserved national parks and zoos which attract lots of tourism and subsequently boost the economy of the nation. Furthermore, policymakers should enact laws to protect species diversity and regulate human activities that can result in the loss of animals. In conclusion, a lack of animal conservation and some harmful human practices such as bushfires result in the disappearance of some animal species. But public education and enacting laws will help prevent further extinction and consequently, promote the economy of the nation as a whole.