Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using smartphones. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Currently, a significant number of people choose to allocate more time to the use of their smart devices. This is because mobile phones make the daily routine easier and increase socialisation opportunities. There are beneficial effects to this trend, but I believe that the overuse of technology is rather detrimental to individuals. A reason for the increased usage of smartphones is primarily their accessibility. As prices from them are more competitive, due to a growing market, people can afford to invest in the newest model with all updated features, which can improve daily tasks. For instance, a standard-priced smartphone today will have all the necessary navigation applications useful for travel, without charging extra fees for them. Also, these devices offer growing possibilities for virtual social interactions. As such, the initial verbal communication function of the phone has now developed to accommodate voice messages, video calls, and multi-group discussions via social media. Notwithstanding the benefits brought by the technological development of smart devices, my view is that increased time of their use has a negative emotional impact on people. Therefore, spending a significant time online, which is the primary use of smartphones nowadays, is very often associated with poor mental health and lower concentration. Also, reliance on automated features offered by our phones may negatively impact our personal development. For example, using a translation application on our phone is the first choice, rather than learning a new language. The advantages offered by our smart devices, such as easier communication and rapid feedback on various tasks, will further increase the time we choose to spend on them. However, this trend will negatively impact the well-being of the overall society.