Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many health problems are caused by the high level of sugar contained in manufactured food and drink products. This essay agrees that making sugary products more expensive will help individuals consume less sugar. Firstly, a higher price will make them think twice about buying the goods and secondly, the products will be considered as luxury items. To begin with, consumers will rethink paying a higher fee for manufactured products. Usually, manufactured food and drinks are considered as snacks and people will expect them to be lower in cost. Rather than buying expensive light meals and beverages, they would go for heavy ones instead. For example, consumers would consider buying a portion of fried rice and a glass of tea for Rp35,000 instead of purchasing a pack of chocolate biscuits and a bottle of coke for Rp30,000. The former option is closer to whole food than the latter, which means it contains less sugar and it would be less harmful to the consumer's body. Next, pricey produced foods and drinks will be classified as luxury commodities. When the manufacturer puts a high cost, it can lead to people not being able to afford their products because it is too expensive, especially for those who have low purchasing power. The items would be consumed occasionally, and even if there are people who can purchase them frequently, they are in the upper-class economy. For instance, with the current price, it is possible for buyers to get their hands on the products twice a week. However, if the price increases by threefold, the frequency will reduce to only once in a few months. Therefore, this will result in lower consumption. In conclusion, I strongly agree that manufactured food and drink products that are high in sugar should be charged at a higher rate because the consumer will reconsider buying them and the products will be classified as premium items, leading to less consumption and fewer health problems.